2021-2022 ASPIRE/LEADS Mentors

Cindy Li (she/her)

cindy li

Hi! I am a rising junior at the University of Minnesota - Carlson School of Management. I plan on double majoring in finance and management information system. In my free time I like to watch Chinese and Korean dramas and motivate myself to go to the gym :)

Thomas Thao (he/him)

thomas thao

I'm a rising Junior starting fresh in Graphic Design. I'm geek for all things Star Wars, Marvel, and Anime. I love BTS which is basically all I listen too. Hobbies include cooking, volleyball, and tennis.

Andy Xiong (he/him)

andy xiong

My name is Andy Xiong and I am a Sophomore in the College of Liberal Arts! I am currently studying for an Art major with a focus in Photography and a minor in Japanese. During my free time, I like to spend my time playing tennis, taking pictures, playing games with my family/friends and getting Boba.

Trisha Trinh (she/her)


hehe haiiii everyone!! My name is Trisha and I'm an incoming sophomore majoring in Mechanical Engineering. I really like to read webtoons, snack on/bake munchies, watch k-dramas and anime, and spend time with my friends and familia. I've been told that I'm bubbly? Sooooo.... I'll let ya'll be the judge if we ever go out to get boba :)

Ryan Jeo (he/him)

ryan jeo

Hi, my name is Ryan (he/him) and I am a 3rd year student studying Chemical Engineering. A fun fact about me is that I really enjoy brewing my own coffee, and am currently investing in a better setup. If any of you all play League feel free to add me (oeJ). I'm super excited to meet you all this year!

Chloe Wick (she/her)


Hi! My name is Chloe Wick, and I am double majoring in Chemical Engineering and Genetics, Cell Biology, & Development. I love spending time outside and some things I enjoy are running, backpacking, hiking, watching terrible movies, and annoying my little sister!

Malia Lee (she/her)


Hi! My name is Malia. I am a junior majoring in Psychology. In my free time I like to listen to music and am currently learning to play the guitar. I also like to be outside and play volleyball with my friends.

Jamie Dawson (she/her)

jamie dawson

I’m a sophomore this fall and originally from Minneapolis. I’m so excited to become a mentor and have the opportunity to connect with my mentee. I love exploring the U, spending time outside and finding new restaurants.

"Kenny" Kengchit Lam (he/him)

kenny lam

Hi, my name is Kenny Lam. I am a 3rd-year chemical engineering student. I enjoy coding, reading books, and exercising.

Sophia Ngep (she/her)

sophia ngep

Hi! My name is Sophia Ngep and i’m a sophomore this year studying Psychology! I am so excited to be apart of the ASPIRE community and build relationships with everyone here!!

Raphael Popa (he/him)

raphael popa

I am a junior majoring in statistics. I am Filipino American. I like to workout, especially cardio workouts (running and swimming). I like to go shopping/thrifting. My favorite tv shows are anime (AOT and Shippuden).

Anh Lien (she/her)

Lucie Lu (she/her)

Michelle (Mia) Lu (she/her)

Diya Patel (she/her)


Hello, my name is Diya Patel and I am a rising sophomore! I am pursuing a major in Biology and a minor in Management in hopes of running my own dental practice in the future. I look forward to joining the ASPIRE community and meeting many new people!

Jessica Lin (she/her)

jessica lin

Hihi!! My name is Jessica and I will be a sophomore at the Carlson School of Management. I spend a lot of time reading novels (actual books, webnovels, etc.), baking, listening to the Hamilton soundtrack, and taking naps. Outside of ASPIRE, I am a Welcome Week Leader and serve as multimedia chair for the Chinese American Student Association so I'm apparently decent at art. I enjoy meeting new people and if you have 3 hours to kill, hmu. I look forward to seeing y'all soon!!

Matthew Cao (he/him)


Hi, I'm Matthew! I am a coffee-addicted cat person and I am majoring in Mathematics. Some things I am passionate about include chess, boba, cooking, and exploring new places. Check me out on social media; my instagram is therealmatthewcao :)

Lalisha Biswa (she/her)


My name is Lalisha Biswa and I am going to be a sophomore this upcoming school year of 2021-22. I am majoring in Kinesiology with a possible minor in Pharmacology and I was born in Nepal as a refugee but currently live Minnesota. Fun fact about me is I speak 4 languages!!!! (Nepali, English, Hindi, and Spanish). I LOVE learning new languages along with dancing!!!

Samantha Xiong (she/her)

samantha xiong

Hey! I'm Samantha or Sammie! I'm currently a sophomore in CLA majoring in Computer Science and Statistics. In my free time, I like to watch kdramas, go shopping, or go biking. Fun fact: I was an ASPIRE mentee last year.

Mimi Dang (she/her)

mimi dang

Hello! My name is Mimi Dang, I'm going to be a third year and I love to bake, draw, and read (I'm currently reading Dune and A Tale of Two Cities, my favorite genres are Sci-Fi and High Fantasy and my favorite author is Brandon Sanderson). I also really enjoy hiking with my SO, spending time with my family, and eating at ethnic restaurants around Minneapolis.

Katie Nguyen (she/her)

katie nguyen

Hey! My name is Katie and I’m a Vietnamese-American 3rd year Sociology major. I’m the person to hit up if you want to discuss about social issues, eat yummy Asian foods on campus, or contemplate existential identity (or other little) things. Nice to meet you!

Jennifer Chen (she/her)

jennifer chen

My name is Jennifer and I am an upcoming junior with a major in Political Science and Chinese. I am originally from Long Island, New York. Some of my favorite hobbies are spending time with my friends and cooking. I am super excited for the 2021-2022 school year, and can't wait for what this year has to offer.

Pa Cha Vang (she/her)

pa cha vang

Hello! My name is Pa Cha and my pronouns are she/her/hers. I am a second year majoring in Biology, Society & Environment and minoring in Public Health. Outside of ASPIRE, I am a member in PIH Engage and Premed AMSA. I love coffee, anything music related, hiking, journaling, and exploring parts of the Twin Cities!

Cindy Chau (she/her)

cindy chau

Hi! My name is Cindy and I am a sophomore at the Carlson School of Management! I enjoy playing badminton, baking, watching Netflix shows and spending time with my family and friends. Outside of ASPIRE, I am the treasurer for the Chinese American Student Association (CASA) and a Carlson Crew Leader. I love trying and learning new things, so I look forward to doing that with my future mentee!

Beryl Belmonte (they/them)


Hi! My name is Beryl, and I'm a junior majoring in Psychology with a minor in Social Justice.
In my free time, I love to watch movies, make Spotify playlists, and go thrifting!

Kyle Hoang (he/they)

kyle hoang

Hello! My name is Khai Hoang. I also go by Kyle. I don't have a preference :). My pronouns are he/they. I am a junior studying Psychology and minoring in Asian American Studies. Some of my hobbies are binging netflix or tiktok, playing the ukulele, and playing video games like Roblox, Among us, or COD. I also love going to beaches/lakes, play volleyball, explore new aesthetic places in urban cities that is good enough to make a tiktok, and ranting about how capitalism puts a strain on BIPOC's mental health. I am quite involved on campus. I am in PES and ASU community on top of ASPIRE community. I love meeting new people and learning about them (especially their astrology sign!!) I am hoping to get into knitting, journaling more, and read more Asian American literature more often!

Helen Yu (she/her)

helen yu

Hi! I'm a third year majoring in Psychology with minors in neuroscience and art. I enjoy hiking, painting, and watching Netflix shows. Outside of ASPIRE I'm involved in various cultural student orgs and MCAE kick-off, as well as being a research assistant at the Minneapolis VA hospital. A fun fact about me is that I was adopted from China and I'm always super excited to meet other adoptees!

Alex Lo (she/her)

alex lo

Hi! My name is Alex and I am a third year majoring in human physiology with an emphasis on public health. I like to play minecraft, watch movies/tv shows/anime and cook new recipes! A fun fact is that I'm trying to explore all (good) ice cream shops in Minneapolis!

Yeemeng Yang (he/him)


Heyooo, my name is Yeemeng Yang and my pronouns are he/him/his. I am a 4th year majoring in Psychology with minors in Communication Studies and Computer Science. Some of my favorite hobbies are playing video games, playing sports, sometimes playing the piano, and dancing. I also enjoy watching anime and dramas, and I like going on walks too.

Pahoua Xiong (she/her)


Hi! My name is Pahoua Xiong, I use she/her pronouns. I will be a third year student this school year. I enjoying making new friends and I love plants! I am excited to be a mentor and I look forward to what this year will bring.

Raynell Hong (she/her)

raynell hong

Hi! I'm Raynell! I'm going to be a second year majoring in Sustainable Systems Management. I love baking, cooking, food, learning languages, travelling, music, tv, and picnics. I also love personality quizzes even if they're stupid. I'm also EVP for CASA this year! Looking forward to meeting everyone! :)

Katherine Vu (she/her)

katherine vu

Hi! My name is Katherine, but you can just call me Kat and I am a senior majoring in Biology with a minor in Pharmacology. In my spare time, I love checking out new places to eat around Minneapolis and I have also recently picked up embroidery as a hobby. I am very excited to meet the mentees and learn with them throughout the semester!

Hunter Lee (he/him)

hunter lee

Hello my name Hunter Lee, I go by the pronouns he/his/him. I recently just transferred to the U in the spring of 2020, I will be graduating this fall. I love to workout, hangout with friends, and have a good time.

Sarah Eckerstorfer (she/her)

sarah eckerstorfer

Hi everyone! My name is Sarah and I am a fourth year studying developmental psychology with neuroscience and school psych minors. Outside of school, I work in the Minneapolis Parks and Recreation Board so I know all the good parks. Fun fact about me is that up until recently I was the youngest member of the family on both sides! Excited to meet everyone!

Fuechai Vang (he/him)


Hello! I am a graduate student in the Masters of Accountancy program, and this is my 4th year here at the U as well as within the ASPIRE program (so I'm basically a Senior). I recently just graduated from Carlson and have been involved with MCAE Kickoff and ASU board in the past. Some surface stuff to know about me is that I love sports, playing games, watching anime, and meeting new people. I can also introduce you to my lineage of mentees too, they very very much maybe kinda not really think highly of me!